City by the Bay… home sweet home again?!

So, I have this plane ticket tomorrow. An expensive one. To a country really far away. That I spent a year of my life getting to know. But… I don’t think I’m going to use it…

It’s a weird feeling, really. It’s not that I don’t want to keep traveling. I still have the same feelings about traveling – I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!! 🙂 I think I just need some time to re-group and really figure out where I want to go next and what I want to do. In addition to that(a pretty big addition to that), I need to start saving more money. I lasted a very long time on very little money, but at some point I have to be realistic and realize that my bank account will not last forever, or maybe not even a few more months… I love Chile and would love to go back and spend more time there, but don’t think I can live off the little money I have saved + the small income I would make teaching English there, although I’ll be really sad not to see all my friends there as soon as I thought I would(I’ll still be back to visit as soon as I can!!). I do, though, also have my amazing sister, friends, connections and opportunities in the Bay Area that have already come a knockin’.

So… officially… for better or worse, I will be in the magical Bay Area for a while. What is a while? I have absolutely no idea! Vamos a ver…

I also wouldn’t mind paving a more clear cut direction in the career sense. I have a lot of passions, but would love to turn one into something that actually makes me a little money(not too much, just to save for the next adventure/idea) and maybe allows me to do some travel or find work internationally. That being said, I’ve been applying to a lot of non-profits and for-profits and actually have(or already had) 3 interviews in the works since I’ve been back. Hopefully I’ll have even more, and hopefully from those, I’ll actually get some opportunities!

I have had an absolutely crazy mix of emotions since being here and still have quite a few of them every day. I really miss the constant Spanish, get really annoyed at the smart phones getting in the way of human face-to-face communication, and really miss Chilean onces(best bread in the world, alongside avocado, tomatoes, cheese and tea in place of dinner). But I really enjoy spending time with people I haven’t seen in far too long, being able to absolutely and completely express myself in my native language, and love re-visiting one of my favorite cities(and geographical areas) on the planet.

I am ready to attack the Bay Area once again…now all I need is 1) a job, 2) a place to live and 3) a musical project… let’s do this!

 

FotoFlexer_Photo

Categories: Random thoughts | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “City by the Bay… home sweet home again?!

  1. Welcome back, Chica! We haven’t communicated in (…what seems like centuries) a long while! Just wanted to say hi from “Indy”!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

